Inaugural Student Media Poll features Alabama as Preseason No. 1, College Football Playoff Predictions

In the inaugural Student Media Poll, including voters from all FBS conferences, Alabama was selected as the No. 1 college football team in the nation.

The Crimson Tide led the preseason poll, securing 52 first place votes, followed by Clemson in second with nine first place votes.

The SEC led conferences with six teams in the Top 25, including two of the top five. The Big Ten was second with five teams, followed by the Pac 12 with four.

1 52 Alabama16300-0
29 Clemson15520-0
33 Oklahoma14950-0
4Ohio State14780-0
52 Georgia14010-0
6Texas A&M12320-0
7Iowa State12160-0
9Notre Dame9960-0
11North Carolina9570-0
14Miami (FL)7040-0
20Penn State4280-0
22Coastal Carolina3220-0
25Arizona State1560-0
Receiving Votes: Oklahoma State (110), Utah (77), Northwestern (60), Auburn (59), Michigan (50), Liberty (42), UCF (40), BYU (29), TCU (25), NC State (24), Boise State (19), Mississippi State (14), West Virginia (12), Houston (11), Appalachian State (9), Florida State (8), San Jose State (7), Boston College (6), Ball State (6), Tulsa (6), Pitt (5), Virginia Tech (5), Nevada (4), UCLA (4), North Texas (4), Kentucky (3), Memphis (3), Syracuse (3), Western Michigan (2), Wake Forest (2), Minnesota (2), Rutgers (1), Colorado (1), San Diego State (1), Kent State (1), Nebraska (1), Stanford (1)

The 100+ student media members from across the U.S. also selected their College Football Playoff favorites. Voters selected a top four, champion and runner-up of the playoff, with a point system used to determine seeds and results.

Voters chose Alabama to repeat as champion, defeating Oklahoma this January at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Playoff Game 1: #1 Alabama defeats #4 Ohio State

Playoff Game #2: #3 Oklahoma defeats #2 Clemson

Championship Game: #1 Alabama defeats #3 Oklahoma

This year’s College Football Playoff Semifinal games will take place at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida, and the Cotton Bowl in Arlington, Texas, on Dec. 31, 2021. The championship game will take place Jan. 10, 2022, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Recent Posts:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s